http://www.freeport.tx.us/users/0001/images/getacro.gif
Freeport's History
Velasco & Freeport
This image is of the original town of Velasco, where present day Surfside Beach sits.


Freeport has a rich history. In 1528, Cabeza de Vaca landed in the area and named the river "Los Brazos de Dios."


In 1822, Stephen F. Austin landed at the mouth of the Brazos River and founded Velasco.
Velasco
http://www.freeport.tx.us/users/0001/images/Scene in Velasco.jpg

 
In the next 15 years, about 25,000 people entered the Republic of Texas through Velasco. 


In 1836 following the decisive battle of San Jacinto, Velasco was made the first capital of the Republic of Texas by interim President David G. Burnet.
Freeport
http://www.freeport.tx.us/users/0001/images/GREERS.jpg


In 1929, the river was diverted south of town, leaving the Old Brazos riverbed as a protected harbor leading to the Gulf of Mexico.


Originally two towns, Velasco & Freeport, on opposites of the Old Brazos River, joined to become the City of Freeport in 1957. Freeport is a part of the Texas Independence Trail.
http://www.freeport.tx.us/users/0001/images/Lighthouse.JPG


Did you know Velasco had a lighthouse?  Check out other interesting facts about Freeport and Velasco at our Freeport Historical Museum.