City of Freeport | 200 W. 2nd Street | Freeport, TX 77541
Phone: (979) 233-3526 | Fax: (979) 233-8867 (fax)
Freeport has a rich history. In 1528, Cabeza de Vaca landed in the area and named the river "Los Brazos de Dios."
In 1821, Stephen F. Austin and 38 men landed at the mouth of the Brazos River on the schooner Lively.
Mr. Austin and his "Old Three Hundred" colonists settled the area and in 1831 founded Velasco. It was the site of the Battle of Velasco in 1832.
Check out other interesting facts about Freeport and Velasco at our Freeport Historical Museum
Copyright © 2016 - Freeport, TX USA